Campus Safety Workgroup


This workgroup is charged with (i) aligning the Campus Safety Task Force’s recommendations with UC Presidential guidelines and feedback from other UCR campus constituencies, (ii) beginning implementation of the recommendations, (iii) establishing criteria and processes for monitoring and evaluating implementation, and (iv) setting up a standing committee that will monitor and evaluate implementation, in light of an ongoing review of best practices and research literature on campus and community safety. 

Download the March 2022 UCR Community Safety Update


Elizabeth Watkins (Chair), Provost
Denise Woods, AVC Health, Well-being and Safety
Elizabeth Romero, AVC Government and Community Relations
Anthony Frisbee, Interim Chief of Police                                                                       

George Williams, Director of Employee & Labor Relations
Jennifer Winfield, Assistant Director & Deputy Title IX Officer
Marko Princevac, Vice Provost of International Affairs
Nancy Tubbs, Director of LGBT Resource Center
Jennifer Hung, Assistant & Training Director for Counseling & Psychological Svc.
Matthew Chang, Behavioral Health Director at RU Health System
Michael J. Cabral, Assistant District Attorney for Riverside County
Ana Coria, Program Coord. for Undocumented Students Program
Christopher Fernandez, Diversity Council Co-chair
Alex Cortez, Academic Coord. for Botany and Plant Sciences
Boris Maciejovsky, Associate Professor of Management, School of Business
Mariam Lam, EEO Representative
Elaine Wong, Associate Professor of Management, School of Business                               

Rosanna Cacace-Zakhir, Assistant Director of Prevention Education
Regina Patton Stell, NAACP Riverside Branch

Staff Support

Jamie Lopez, Campus Counsel

CSWG Meeting Notes

Monday, August 16 | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, September 27 | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, October 11 | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, October 25 | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, December 6 | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, January 3rd | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, January 31st | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, February 28 | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, March 28 | 1:00 p.m.

Monday, April 11 | 1:00 p.m.



Jack Clarke, Jr. (Chair), Partner, Best Best and Krieger
Luis Huerta, ASUCR President
Angelica Garcia, ASUCR Vice President of Internal Affairs
Nichi Yes, Graduate Student Association President
Judit Palencia Gutierrez, Graduate Student Association Vice President 
Jason Stajich, Chair, Faculty Senate and Professor of Microbiology & Plant Pathology
Thomas Smith, Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Mariam Lam, Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Brian Haynes, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Dennis McIver, President, Staff Assembly 
Wade Stern, President, UCR Police Officer Association 
Michelle Burroughs, Member, UCR Black Faculty & Staff Association
Alton Carswell, Case Manager, Student Affairs
John Freese, Interim Police Chief
Kim Overdyck, Senior Investigator, Chief Compliance Office
Bert Wright, Immediate Past President, UCR Black Alumni 
Hon. Jorge Hernandez, Riverside County Superior Court Judge  
Keona Henderson, President, UCR Black Alumni
Sharon Oselin, Associate Professor of Sociology and Public Policy (on sabbatical during winter quarter)

Staff Support

Christine Victorino, Associate Chancellor 
David Bergquist, Chief Campus Counsel
Megan Johnson, Administrative Specialist


September 2020: Task Force Established

January-March 2021: Preliminary Recommendations (Draft Task Force Report | Feedback from Academic Senate | Feedback from Graduate Student Association | Feedback from CHASS Executive Committee)

February-March 2021: Finalize Report and Recommendations for Implementation (Final Report | Message to Campus

March 2021: Begin Implementation of Recommendations

Meeting Dates

Wednesday, 10/14 at 9:30 a.m. | Agenda Minutes

Thursday, 10/29 at 1 p.m. | Agenda Minutes

Thursday, 11/12 at 3 p.m. (Town Hall) | Agenda Town Hall Recording  (Passcode: 5qM#35y3) | Minutes

Wednesday, 11/25 at 1 p.m. | Agenda Minutes

Thursday, 12/10 at 2 p.m. | Agenda Minutes Restorative Justice Presentation (Passcode: @Cba?53m)

Friday, 12/18 at 4 p.m. | Agenda Minutes

Friday, 1/8 at 2 p.m. | Agenda Minutes

Friday, 1/22 at 4 p.m | Agenda

Wednesday, 2/3 at 2 p.m | Faculty & Subject Matter Experts (Passcode: MN=M5ZyQ)

Thursday, 2/4 at 3 p.m. | Student Feedback Meeting (Passcode: 0HET+K.#) 

Friday, 2/5 at 11 a.m. | Campus Safety Task Force Town Hall | Recording (Passcode: vv6&^sS)